Mychael Danna and Jeff Danna – Alias Grace


Academy Award Winner Mychael Danna

(‘Life Of Pi’, ‘Little Miss Sunshine’, ‘Girl, Interrupted’)


Emmy Nominee Jeff Danna

(‘The Good Dinosaur’, ‘The Imaginaries Of Doctor Parnassus’,

‘Kurt Cobain: Montage Of Heck’, ‘Storks’)


Scored by the acclaimed sibling composers, Mychael and Jeff Danna’s to accompany the compelling drama series ‘Alias Grace’ – based on Margaret Atwood’s novel – and starring Sarah Gadon, Anna Paquin, Zachery Levi, Paul Gross, Edward Holcroft, Kerr Logan, Rebecca Liddiard and David Cronenberg.

Previewing at Toronto International Film Festival, the mini-series aired on CBC in Canada and Netflix in the Autuman of 2017. Directed by Mary Harron and Sarah Gadon, the program is based on the historical fictional novel by Atwood (‘The Handmaid’s Tale’ and ‘The Blind Assassin’). The series traces the true-life story of Grace Marks, a young poor Irish immigrant servant and James McDermott, a stable hand, who were both convicted of murdering their employers in Upper Canada during 1843. Marks who was vindicated after three decades behind bars went on to become a notorious figure while McDermott was hung.

Mychael’s inspiration for the score was to create something that mirrored “the formal rigidity of British Colonial 19th Century society”.

An exquisite and compelling composition, it translates both on screen and off, through the brother’s choice of a chamber group to accompany them. The fleeting woodwinds and piano (along with the occasional church organ) create a beautifully romantic and dramatic persona that has an underlying darkness at its core reflecting the crime that underpins the series.

Mychael Danna is an Academy Award winning composer whose work includes Ang Lee’s ‘Life Of Pi’. He has also been recognised with an Emmy for Outstanding Composition for the mini-series ‘World Without End’ (2013), the Frederick Loewe Award for Film Composing (2013), the World Soundtrack Awards for Film Composer of the Year, and Best Score of the Year (both 2013), and the Hollywood Film Award for Composer of the Year (2016).

Mychael’s other credits include the Oscar-winning ‘Little Miss Sunshine’ which was nominated for a Grammy Award (Best Compilation Soundtrack), ‘500 Days Of Summer’ and ‘Girl, Interrupted’.

Emmy-nominated composer Jeff Danna’s film credits include ‘The Good Dinosaur’, ‘The Imaginaries Of Doctor Parnassus’, ‘Kurt Cobain: Montage Of Heck’ and ‘Storks’ along with the Ryan Gosling-Anthony Hopkins’ legal drama ‘Fracture’ and more.

Outside of film, the Danna brothers have had success worldwide with their orchestral Celtic albums which all reached top ten in the Billboard Chart.

Fire Soundtracks and Lakeshore Records release ‘Alias Grace’ for the first time on limited edition double LP with die cut outer and will also be available on CD which is released on May 11th 2018.

Track list

  1. Grace In The Mirror
  2. Kingston Penitentiary, 1859
  3. Doctor Jordan
  4. McDermott Is Hung
  5. Quilts
  6. A Terrible Shock
  7. Below Deck
  8. Funeral At Sea
  9. Ferry Crossing
  10. Mary Whitney
  11. Torn Open
  12. Home For Christmas
  13. A Visit To The Doctor
  14. My Methods Take Time
  15. Mary’s Burial
  16. Nancy Montgomery Herself
  17. Daisy Crown
  18. Woman’s Work
  19. God Alone Can Tidy It Up
  20. A Common Peddler
  21. Grace’s Dream
  22. Plotting Murder
  23. Firefly
  24. Flight
  25. Simon’s Fantasy
  26. Under Hypnosis
  27. Grace’s Letter
  28. Embroidery Of The Tree Of Paradise