Steve Warner – Steve Warner


“I love Steve’s work – some of it feels sort of tolkeinesque to me. He touches the spirit.” Howard Eynon

There’s something particularly pleasing about a privately pressed record. The artist or musicians involved wanting their recordings to exist with such conviction that they’ve been willing to fund it themselves; the result is usually either a vanity project or something rather special. Steve Warner’s eponymous 1979 debut falls firmly into the latter. Funded by the combination of a bank loan and a council grant from his native Australia, Steve managed to record, produce, mix and manufacture what would be come to be his only recorded output.

The self-titled debut took almost three years to make with Nick Armstrong at the legendary Spectangle Studios – also where Howard Eynon recorded ‘Jam’ – assisting him and the album was eventually managed by Tasmanian label, Candle. Filled with delicate folk songs, madcap ditties and more psychedelic orchestrated pieces is incredibly accomplished for a one man show.

Warner had been a regular on the acoustic folk and coffee house circuit in Melbourne, his time there was well spent as invites to perform with Charlie Dowley and other musical friends meant that he was performing at venues such as Green Man, The Troubadour and One-C-One. Leading to work with Sebastian Jorgensen, a respected classical guitar player, it was the enthusiasm of close friends who helped get him to get back into the studio. However it was his experimenting teenage self that the album itself was inspired by – a childhood lost in endless days and nights obsessing over the process of making music, layering compositions and arranging on his own reel to reel tape machine.

“At the time I would have long dreams about music, but strangely never did I actually hear music in them. I would dream of music in a very abstract sense – its tension and release, its inner harmonies, often in a visual or graphic way like an architect might. Lines of stress and of release, tension and slackness, angles between elements, heavy and light, strength and fragility. I used to be fascinated by the grey zone between sleeping and waking, and of finding that place in music.” – Steve Warner, 2015

Track list:

01 Summer

02 Hey, Hosanna

03 Lightning Over The Meadow

04 A Boogie

05 Rainfall

06 Charlton

07 We’ll Go On

08 Poems In Your Eyes

09 Fireflies

10 Momento

11 Untitled

12 Crisp Morning

13 Cement River

SKU: EARTH009 Category: Tags: , , , , ,